I am in a Women’s Bible Study with about 9 women.  We decided to give food to some families in our school who could not afford a Thanksgiving meal.  Serving others really puts life in perspective.  It’s weird how when you serve others, your heart because so full of love and joy.  God knew what he was doing when he decided serving was a way to bless Him.

1 Peter: 4:10 Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms.

It was an amazing experience!! It was so sweet to see the kiddos so excited to see their teachers and so appreciative!! It was so simple yet so rewarding to get to serve others.  I was nervous about how this would go and I was so happy that we were able to do this!  Sometimes we get so caught up in our life we really do forget others.  Andy and I go to church, we pray, we try to live the Christian life, but until you get out there and serve others….it seems as though you do not truly feel God in your life.  I can’t explain it.

It’s amazing to see how this feeling can make a person act.  I will never forget going to a high school birthday party for a young lady! 🙂 Her birthday party was all about helping others.  She did not want any birthday presents.  She wanted to serve others.  A HIGH SCHOOL STUDENT!! When I was in high school, I remember wanting presents for myself.  It’s amazing to watch people’s walks in faith and where God leads people….and at different times!

Matthew 25: 45-46 (The Message) “He will answer them, ‘I’m telling the solemn truth: Whenever you failed to do one of these things to someone who was being overlooked or ignored, that was me—you failed to do it to me.'”Then those ‘goats’ will be herded to their eternal doom, but the ‘sheep’ to their eternal reward.”

My parents are coming for Thanksgiving!! YAHOO!! They get here on Sunday, but unfortunately I will not be here!! I am going to a workshop to help me with National Boards.  I am very excited because it will be 5 days of uninterrupted work time!! I am so thankful Andy and my parents get a long so well!! It is great to know that they both are excited about the time they get to spend together!!

Andy got a new cell phone yesterday!! I am also VERY thankful for that!! He had my cell phone from 6 years ago.  Needless to say it was DYING.  Well, it died the other day and I had no way to get a hold of Andy.  I shouldn’t be stressed or worried, but I let my emotions take over.  I was worried something bad happened.  What I should have done is open my Bible.  I looked up scriputure later that gave me a lot of comfort!!

Psalm 34:4 I  sought the Lord and He answered me; He delivered me from all my fears.
Psalm 34:7 The angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear Him (God) and He delivers them. (Spiritual insight = A healthy respect for God will keep us out of sin and into safety and health.)
Psalm 40:1-3 KJV I waited patiently for the Lord.  He inclined to me and heard my cry.  He brought me up also out of a horrible pit, out of the miry clay, set my feet upon a rock, and established my goings.  He has put a new song in my mouth, even praise to our God.

I wish I would remember this everytime I get stressed out or worried.

About kelleywilson

I have an AMAZING husband who teaches me more and more how to be a better person. I have a sweet little boy who makes me smile and laugh...and sometimes just wonder! I taught kindergarten for 3 years at Mabel Elementary, 3 years as a 4th grade teacher at Hardin Park and then ventured back down to kindergarten. In 2012 I was blessed with a reading position at Cove Creek! I teach K-5 students who just need a little extra help in reading. God is good and continues to show His work and love in our lives.

One response »

  1. Shana Scott says:

    Thankyou Kelly! I needed to hear that!

Leave a comment