Tubes were a success!! When we got there, they put us in a little “hospital room” where we had a curtain as our 4th wall.  Then we had to wait…Let’s just say Jack is not very good at waiting.  He was ok at first.  Played with the stethoscope, played with the heart monitor that was on his foot and finger, played with a bear they gave him, played with the saline drip bag.  But then…it was over.  He just kept saying “bye bye” and pointing to the door.  It took a little while before it was time for him to go.  It was a little miserable.

IMG_9042    IMG_9044

Then it took about 5 minutes before the nurse called us back!  I was VERY surprised!! When Lucas had both sets, they took his adenoids and then had to look at them again…so it took a little bit longer.  I was amazed! Dr. McGuirt came back and said the fluid was NOT draining…it was just sitting in his ears and turning jelly like.  So it was a good thing we did tubes.  He did not think it was going to clear without it.  So that did make me feel better.

Then we waited until he woke up.  I could hear a baby crying…and it was ours.  Well, not crying, SCREAMING bye bye through his tears and breaths.  It was pitiful.  He did NOT like the anesthesia.  I held him, Andy held him, we gave him juice (he never gets juice), we gave him squeezies, his favorite snacks, nothing worked.  Finally we just left and went to Chick-fil-a to see if it would help some.  It helped a LITTLE bit, but we just decided to keep driving.  So FINALLY about 25 minutes later, he fell asleep…with food in his hand!! 🙂  He woke about an hour later when we were driving into Boone and he was a HAPPY kid!! YAHOO!! 🙂

IMG_9055 IMG_9060 IMG_9061

Sleep is still not where it was…so I am trying to get this in balance!! It’s hard when it takes an hour or two to fall back asleep!! 😦  We just can’t seem to fight the bugs that keep going around.  He will be great for 3-4 days, then spikes a fever.  I don’t think it’s his ears, but so ready for a healthy season….and a full nights sleep again!!  One day! 🙂

I was hoping that would break Jack’s biting…but it didn’t.  He has bit us all…and twice at preschool.  Unless you are the parent of a biter…you have no idea how HARD it is.  I talk to him about biting, we have time outs, we remove him from the area, we have done everything…and it’s not working.  So yes…we have 2 biters.  What stopped Lucas? Jack biting him…so we aren’t going to start that over!!  So yes…you can pray for that!!

Spring is FINALLY here!! 🙂  That’s the good news!! We went to our church’s softball game, played at the Tot Lot, went on walks to Earthfare and played on our new swing set…thanks to some amazing neighbors!! 🙂  Lucas was soooooo excited!!! 🙂  He got to go to Grandfather Mountain last week with his preschool and today they went to a park and climbed trees.  I love hearing Lucas talk about it!!  I know his speech is getting better…and people who know him and hear him can decipher his speech…I just want him to figure it out!!  We did have a fun little “discussion” with Lucas.  He decided he was the “boss” of mommy and daddy.  I have no idea where he got this, but he would not back down.  He had to go to time out twice and finally, after 20 minutes, when I went to talk to him, he decided he wasn’t the boss of us.  I told him he is the boss of himself and his body, but he is not the boss of anyone else.  OH MY GOSH! He’s 4!!!  I know my dad used to tell me 5 words…”you are not in charge,”  but I don’t think I ever said I was the boss of them!! 😉

IMG_9067 IMG_9082 IMG_9083 IMG_9085 IMG_9078 IMG_9086 IMG_9092 IMG_9096 IMG_9110

 IMG_9122

About kelleywilson

I have an AMAZING husband who teaches me more and more how to be a better person. I have a sweet little boy who makes me smile and laugh...and sometimes just wonder! I taught kindergarten for 3 years at Mabel Elementary, 3 years as a 4th grade teacher at Hardin Park and then ventured back down to kindergarten. In 2012 I was blessed with a reading position at Cove Creek! I teach K-5 students who just need a little extra help in reading. God is good and continues to show His work and love in our lives.

Leave a comment